Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Bang for the Buck (tactical shotgun)

Best Bang for the Buck (tactical shotgun)

So I started out set on getting a Saiga 12 and making mods to it, but after pricing things out, I'm not sure I can swing $1400 ish right now with a house under construction ... I also doubt I'd find a deal on one locally at a show. I also want to mess around and do some mods myself. I'm very new at that, so it's a little safer to start out with a $300ish shotgun than tweaking the AK style job starting at $600.

So,
    What are some of your all's best bang for the buck options for a self defense shotgun. I'm open to any functional size (12ga, 20ga, .410, etc). I'd like to be right around 18" to avoid the NFA junk. I prefer semi auto, but that won't be a deal breaker.

I'd like everything taken into consideration: versatility, aftermarket option, reliability, etc. A sweet looking gun is a major plus.

Thanks in advance!
    Chris

Moderator & Team Gunsnet Platinum 07/2011 O.S.O.K.'s Avatar

Just get the stock Saiga and do the mods as you can. It's very easy to do the pistol grip mod and not much $$...

Classic arms has em for $600 http://www.classicarms.us/Saiga.htm
    ~Nemo me impune lacessit~

Hey, FWIW... I bought all of my Saiga 12 mods from:

http://www.mississippiautoarms.com/s...7b30fb85ac3ed0

I agree with OSOK, get the S12 now... you never know when the US will stop allowing importation of them... mod as your budget allows.

How about this? For $119 bucks... this is probably one of the easiest grip/stock mods you can do:

http://www.mississippiautoarms.com/s...an-p-1940.html

Sure, I bet that we'd all like an ACE Skeleton Stock, SAW grip relocated with a new Tromix Trigger guard... but for $119 bucks, I think this is pretty darn slick and might fit a budget oriented design?

I can do the pistol grip configuration for about the same $$ maybe a bit more but you end up with a "proper" AK configured shotty.