Thread: Advice needed for removing "pattern 1" bayonet

Question Advice needed for removing "pattern 1" bayonet

I'm kind of a hands-on learner - but I got in a bit too deep now!

When I purchased my Century Arms ak47 it came with a bayonet. I finally decided to try it out - I was curious how it looked. Unfortunately, I didn't notice until later that it didn't have a release button on it. After doing some researching, it looks like something called a "pattern 1 bulgarian" bayonet - but that might not be right. Basically it slid on and locked into place. The base part is rather skinny - not thicker like the one's I've seen a lot in pictures and in forums. There is no release button that I can see. I don't see any release buttons on my AK - butttt I am new to them yet, so I might be missing something. One other thing I tried was turning the two screws in the handle to see if I had to actually take it apart. The nut side of the machine screws just spun as well (looks like almost like a rivet - but it's incredibly greasy so I don't know).

What are my options for removing this? I assumed it would be easy to snap on/take off - otherwise I wouldn't have attached it in the first place!

Indiana, a state that is trying to remain free.
    Welcome to the group !!!

The Type 1 bayo locks onto the cleaning rod holder on the front sight. Just under the front sight the bayo should have a release that you pull down. It is not a button.

Hi and thanks for the note back. Perhaps I guessed wrong at the type of bayonet - remember, I was only looking at pictures.

I was able to take a picture during lunch. I have it attached. I'm not entirely certain if this IS the type-1 and - if so - where exactly the holder is.
    2012-10-02 12.20.44.jpg

Thanks so much for your help so far!