Thread: AR SBR / pistol questions

AR SBR / pistol questions

Hi,

I'm very new to the whole SBR issue. Here's my idea. Please let me know if this is legal.

I plan on getting a dedicated AR pistol lower and putting a 10" "SBR" set up 300 blk upper. I don't need any NFA paperwork for that, correct?

Next, can I apply for SBR paperwork with that same dedicated pistol lower if I would choose to down the road? I'm basically asking if I can set it up as a pistol so I can use the 300 blk while I wait for the NFA paperwork to process.

Thanks,
    Chris

Indiana, a state that is trying to remain free.
    If I understand what you are saying, as long as you put an upper with a barrel longer than 16 inches on your lower you are legal. Get the tax stamp for your intended SBR and once you have it, then you can get the upper and install it on the lower.

If I am not mistaken, due to the design of the AR-15 ATF has decided that having a "pistol" upper along with a completed standard length carbine or rifle does not make it "constructive intent". They have made several rulings on the AR-15 because of all the available combinations so you might want to go to the ATF website and search for latest AR-15 rulings. Also check their FAQs as they give a lot of answers to many questions as to what they consider legal regardless as to what the constitution says.

Forum Administrator Schuetzenman's Avatar

Look at it this way and set aside the SBR aspect for now. If you build it as a pistol on a pistol marked lower, it is a pistol and legal to operate as a pistol. No stock on a Pistol buffered AR pistol = pistol and legal.