Thread: Martial Arts for my son

Team GunsNetwork PLATINUM 10/2012 rci2950's Avatar

Martial Arts for my son

When my son gets old enough i am going to put him in classes for some sort of martial art. I was reading about a number of them and knowing nothing myself i realized that most of them are useless in actual real world self defence. Is anyone here involved in a martial art? I looked at Judo and Kung fu classes that are given in town. Once a week classes that you bring your kid to and they jump around and stuff with white robes on. Thats the kind of thing i want for him but something that will be more useful later on then just slapping someones chest and dancing around them.

Any Ideas?
    Gunsnet member since 2002
    Salt Water Cowboy - Dolphin 38

Team Guns Network Silver 04/2013 alismith's Avatar

I hold a 3rd degree black belt in Tae-Kwan-do (only took me about 10 years, but I made it) and taught martial arts class for about 6 years before I "retired."

Tae Kwan-do is a good martial art to study, but it deals with about 80% foot work and 20% hand work. After watching other forms, I feel that more hand work is needed in the real world. The main problem I see with my training is that I can disable someone, but don't really know how to "control" someone if I don't want to physically hurt them. Controlling someone would be of far more use than hurting them.

Also, Tae Kwan-do is a "hard form" martial art compared to a "soft form" martial art. Hard form means you meet an attack with a block that is supposed to cause damage to the opponent, while soft form is meant to redirect an opponent's attack so they miss you, totally, while you end up in a controlling position after their attack. Soft forms are much more difficult to learn but once mastered, you are very seldom touched by your opponent while gaining control of them. But, most soft forms do contain some aspects of hardness, especially when punching.