Thread: Should I buy this Polytech AKS 762? Pics included..

Should I buy this Polytech AKS 762? Pics included..

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the forum and recently became obsessed with buying an Ak. I just moved to NC from TX and when i visited my local gun shop, I had no intention of putting this Polytech Ak on layaway . Sorry in advance, the pics are not great.

To my knowledge, its a Polytech AKS-762 galil style side folder. I took pics on my phone and didnt include the galil style side folder... Otherwise markings say imported KFS ATL, Georgia. Polytech, Bejing China. 386 inside a circle follwed by CSxxxxx. I tried to look around the rifle to match the last four didgits of SN to other parts of the gun. The gun shop owner let me take off the receiver cover and the bolt carrier matched up.

Anyhow, I would like to hear from you guys if I picked up a great Ak rifle... or not?
    Also, the barrel looked to be threaded?? IDK, I'm still learning about these rifles.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Bamaslammer

Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by imanaknut; 07-28-2012 at 01:07 AM. Reason: Added pictures

Indiana, a state that is trying to remain free.
    Welcome to the group !!!

The Poly Tech with the Galil style side folder is one of the more rare variants, but then again, virtually all are hard to come by. That rifle is considered a pre-Bush1-ban rifle so the barrel will be threaded. Poly Tech AK variants are the cream of the crop of AKs, so finding one is like finding that needle in a haystack, a great find.

All the markings are correct. Oh yes, don't know if you know this or not, so just for my own grins, the muzzle device is threaded left hand, so turn it off the "wrong way". They originally shipped with a muzzle nut, but unless the rifle is "new in box" someone might have changed it. Judging by the picture of the mag opening, the bolt carrier looks pretty clean.