Thread: Had to give my first eBay negative today...

Gunsnet Contributor 02/14

Had to give my first eBay negative today...

Last month I won an auction for a Mitchell 301 left hand fishing reel. I have been using these reels for 50 years and really like them. I just wanted another so I did not have to change the bait as often. Anyway, the seller sent a Mitchell 300, right hand reel, instead. It was a real beater in non-working condition. I contacted the seller and they accused me of not paying. I have the paypal receipt. They then said they would send me the correct reel three times. No joy. Sob stories followed. I figured they were stringing me out so the claim with ebay would expire. I escalated the claim and ebay gave me my money back. I should have looked at the seller's history as there was another negative for rip off there. Never had a problem buying on ebay for 15 years. Live and learn I guess. I bid on another reel and got it yesterday. In like new condition......chris3

Site Admin & **Team Gunsnet Silver 12/2012** Richard Simmons's Avatar

It happens. I've been lucky so far and have received nothing that wasn't up to snuff.
    Gunsnet member since 1999
    USN 1978-86
    BCCI Life Member #2068

•" We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm. " George Orwell

Guns Network Contributor 04/2013 El Laton Caliente's Avatar

I don't think I've bought anything on ebay since playfoul double billed me nearly a grand and would not refund it...

Team GunsNet Silver 04/2014 El Jefe's Avatar

I bought a Yost #1 patternmakers vise on ebay once. Payed for it with paypal and thought everything was cool, except the seller only responded to me once, he ignored me after that. Needless to say, I never got the vise, but I did get my money back from paypal.
    Returns June 3rd.