Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What range do you zero your .223/5.56 rifles for?

Contributor 02/2014 FunkyPertwee's Avatar

What range do you zero your .223/5.56 rifles for?

The popular zeroing distances seem to include 25 yds, 50 yds, and 100 yds. Which is your preference?

I recently zeroed the Aimpoint PRO on my M4 for 25 yards and I think that was a mistake.

I'm new to optics, and have always shot at very close ranges, so external ballistics are somewhat new and unknown to me even though I'm a long time shooter.
    "I'm fucking furious, I'm violently angry, and I like it. If you don't know what that feels like then I feel bad for you"

On a hill with the view of the rest of my life.
    25 meters for Iron sights. Every sighting system attached to an M4 or AR has specific zero criteria. You need to know it before sighting in for zero.

ie. an ACOG gets zeroed ar 100 meters, whereas usually iron sights are zeroed at 25 meters.

http://www.aimpoint.com/us/handling/...mpointr-sight/
    Last edited by btcave; 03-05-2014 at 12:03 AM.
    Trying to get on the no fly list, one post at a time.

I do 50/200 with both iron and my eotech. Turns out to be slightly low a cqb distances.

Forum Administrator Schuetzenman's Avatar

Given your 25 yard zero you are probably sighted in for 200 yards more or less. I've noticed that a 25 yard zero translates to a good zero out at 200. You will be high at 50 and 100 by a couple of inches.

Best advise is to verify your point of impact by shooting at the longer distances and take notes on how much variation from point of aim is the group centering on. This way no guessing.

Unfortunately the ranges around here are limited to 25, 50, and 100 yards. I'll probably pack up and go to the outdoor range and sight in at 50.

For some reason I'm feeling really "anal" about zeroing all my rifles. I'm tempted to make several trips and test every single one of them again for zero.