PDA

View Full Version : Gunkote Questions - Please Help

Makasaurus
05-29-2011, 05:34 AM
I'm an AK noob i am waiting on my WASR 10 AK waiting period ($420 before the DROS etc about $500 OTD). and cant pick it up for 2 days. Naturally i have a few plans for refinishing and want some input from the people who have lots more experience at this then i do. I have done a search and read almost everything on the matter, i have some questions still and now asking for everyone's collective wisdom, all comments are welcome!!!

I ordered some duracoat from midway, that has already shipped but changed my mind.
Everything i read says duracoat will not withstand strong solvents including brake cleaner and will ultimately get softened and washed off. (Is this true or not true?) I clean my guns by hosing them with with brake cleaner, And see no reason to change because it works like a charm on all my 5 other guns, it is cheap and effective. Any gun refinish that will not withstand any solvent is unacceptable to me, and i have visions of melted finish having to be touched up repeatedly. So i'm going to send the duracoat back soon as it gets here. I want to do it right and not do it over!

So i ordered an aerosal can of matte black gunkote from brownells for $37.

FURNITURE QUESTIONS - In the meantime i bought some 220 grit sandpaper. 0000 steel wool, and some stuff from Lowe's called Watco Danish oil finish in cherry, for the furniture. Do i have enough supplies to do the stock and forearm pieces or am i missing something?
I don't expect the furniture to be smooth like a piano case lol but i don't want it to look stupid or spotty either. is 220 grit a smooth enough finish? and does anyone think i need another protectant over the finish after it dries or is this finish adequate. Would tung oil be apropriate after a stain? (I'm not a big fan of linseed oil or poly finish based on what i have heard, sounds like tung oil or nothing but i'm open to ideas.)

GUNKOTE QUESTIONS: