PDA

View Full Version : Dissipator-style barrel assembly question

RCS
06-22-2011, 07:13 AM
So I was perusing the internet the other day and saw a Dissipator upper for the first time since I was just getting into firearms (more than a decade ago), and thought, "that looks really cool." And now I want to build an upper for my current rifle.

Now, all the Dissipators I've seen are carbine length, I want something mid-length (for softer recoil and quicker follow-up shots). Can't find any mid-lengths out there, so I believe I'll have to build it. So here's my question: would I be fucking up if I out the FSB forward enough for a rifle-length handguard on any barrel (that has a low-profile gas block at mid-length)?

I'm new to ARs, so this may be a stupid question.

AK-J
06-22-2011, 09:07 AM
The short answer is it would be perfectly alright to pin a FSB (w/ stock attachment stuff) at the rifle length area hiding the mid-length gas block under the handguards.

Here is what you are looking for?

http://www.aimsurplus.com/product.aspx?item=XSTU5950MOE&name=Spikes+Tactical+16%22+Mid-Length+GMP+5.56%2f.223+Upper&groupid=55

Something else you might want to think about is having a low profile mid-length gas block w/ a full length railed free-floating rifle hand guard, and mount a flip-up buis front sight on the end of the hand guard. Thats what I would do.

cevulirn
06-22-2011, 09:50 AM
+1 on the free float rail.

RCS
06-22-2011, 10:06 AM
The short answer is it would be perfectly alright to pin a FSB (w/ stock attachment stuff) at the rifle length area hiding the mid-length gas block under the handguards.

Here is what you are looking for?

http://www.aimsurplus.com/product.aspx?item=XSTU5950MOE&name=Spikes+Tactical+16%22+Mid-Length+GMP+5.56%2f.223+Upper&groupid=55