PDA

View Full Version : first time buyer

sklesel
09-03-2011, 06:42 PM
Sorry if this kind of post annoys you feel free not to answer...
I've decided to get a gun I can customize since I have alot of free time so I went to the gun show to buy an ak and I have no idea how to tell the model of the gun I just see romania stamped on the side.. also wondering how to tell who makes it I don't want to over pay on an ak but I don't mind spending money on it later to make it decked out.. I saw different varietys and have no idea what to look for in one.. any advice would be appreciated also wondering if the wood ones are customizeable as far as changing the wood part and making it have rails etc
Once again sorry for the stupid questions but im new to this and would like to make a hobby out of it thanks

6gunsal
09-03-2011, 07:27 PM
Are you sure you're not looking for an AR15? Just kidding :D

The Romanian AKs you are seeing at the gunshows are most likely WASRs. If you are looking at customizing it, these would be a good choice since they seem to offer the most value as far as cost vs functionality is concerned. They aren't the prettiest AK variant, but if you can hold one in your hands and make sure the sites are straight and everything is smooth then it should treat you right.

If you want to learn more about the different variants I would check out all the AK sub forums and read the threads, look at pictures, and ask more questions. No-one around here minds helping out a newb :)

Schuetzenman
09-03-2011, 07:32 PM
Hello and welcome to Gunsnet. It's like this, the only Romanian made AK weapons are WASR 10 variants. They are imported by Century Arms International from Vermont. They come in as single stack AK rifles that take 10 round mags. Century's gun monkies (what we call their version of gunsmiths) mill open the magazine well so they take double stack normal AK type magazines.