PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about buying an Arsenal SGL21. Talk me out of it

Joeroe
09-18-2011, 01:51 AM
After some research I think I want an arsenal SGL21. I like that it has a Russian barrel/receiver, optics rail and seems to be a quality piece. I really haven't heard anything bad about it other than it being overpriced. I don't care for the furniture but I'm hoping someone makes a NATO length furniture set in the original AK color for it. Before I buy I thought I'd give you guys a chance to talk me out of it. I do like the Yugo m70 but don't think the under folder stock would be comfortable for a guy my size and I want the ability to mount optics.

Since I'm new to the AK world and you guys have hands on experience please tell me if you think I'm making the wrong decision. It will be used primarily as a range gun but if the sh** hits the fan one of these days it will be good to know I have a reliable weapon that is fairly accurate.

I'm hoping I never need to mount optics but I do want the option. I would like it to look as much like an old school AK as possible. I'm usually a function over form type of guy but I love the way an original AK looks.

Thanks

Schuetzenman
09-18-2011, 07:21 AM
Well it is a converted Russian made Saiga rifle. Really it's something that a lot of folks do for themselves to the degree of putting an original AK stock and pistol grip on. Changing out the forearm stock, gast tube, gas block and front sight plus the threading of the muzzle is another level up in challenge. Some can do that themselves as well. I suppose if you want only 1 then buying the Arsenal rifle is the most expediant way to go.

It should be as reliable as any AK type weapon in as much as Ismash arsenal in Russia made the base weapon / receiver and barrel. On mounting optics there are some rail mounts that fit over the top cover and lock down to the rear tang bolt location.

http://www.krebscustom.com/RawPhotos/1-21-10/Rail_Assembled-650.jpg