PDA

View Full Version : Help buying an AK

VATODAVE
10-28-2011, 04:53 PM
Im located in Northern California. My budget is $600-$800. I want a quality AK-47 like the ones you hear about firing every time no matter what the conditions. Ive heard a few things from different forums all around the web. Im not sure which type of AK is of better quality than others. Ive heard WASR Romanian and Polish were lower quality compared to Yugoslavian or Chinese. What about Bulgarian or Hungarian? Ive also considered buying a parts kit but i have no knowledge on how to build one myself and not aware of any build parties in my area. Maybe willing to travel to Sacramento or the Bay Area. Im pretty sure I want the following specs for an AK I would like to purchase.

-Ive heard milled receivers were able to last longer in tough conditions and also improves accuracy. Is this true?

-16" chrome lined barrel. Threaded?

-What would last longer in harsh conditions, classic wood or synthetic furniture?

-I want it chambered in 7.62x39mm

-Blue or parkerized finish

I would appreciate any suggestions. Thank you gunsnet.

raxar
10-28-2011, 05:00 PM
AK's are regulated in california, If you can get one it will most likely be very expensive. You will not be able to get anything made this century

O.S.O.K.
10-28-2011, 06:05 PM
First of all, :welcome: to the board.

You came to the right place to find out about AK's.

AK's are regulated in Cali - but there are ways around this. You will need to purchase an add-on that requires you to use a "tool" to release the magazine if you want a standard AK. It's a shroud that fits over the mag release and you have to poke a bullet or something like that into a hole to push the release.

For AR's, this is a "bullet" button - which requires that you use the point of a bullet or similar to release the magazine.

Only 10 round magazines too IIRC.