PDA

View Full Version : Sight in Distance and Accuracy for AK47 with UTG 5th Gen Scope

Colonel_Kudzu
01-19-2012, 03:48 PM
Guys, I have tried to do my homework, but I can not find a topic relative to this question. I would like to know what other AK47 owners do in the case of sighting in a scope on their rifles? Is zeroing in for 100 yards a standard? if so, what is the expected grouping? I have tried varying distances, and still I am not satisfied with my particular results. The best I have done at 100 yards is a grouping ranging approx 4" - 5". I am using Tula Ammo, 7.62 X 39mm, 122 gr, FMJ. I have a UTG 5th Generation R/G reticle 3 X 9 40mm power scope, using the side mount with the Picatinny top rail.
Any comments or suggestions would be welcome as I am new to the AK47. In any case, I do love the all purpose use of this weapon, and plan to stick with it. Thanks, Colonel

videodon
01-19-2012, 04:55 PM
Welcome!
4"-5" at 100 yards is about all the average AKM will do.
(open sights)
:)
Seriously, it's not a target rifle...at least for me it's not.
Enjoy the addiction!

Colonel_Kudzu
01-19-2012, 05:17 PM
Welcome!
4"-5" at 100 yards is about all the average AKM will do.
(open sights)
:)
Seriously, it's not a target rifle...at least for me it's not.
Enjoy the addiction!

You Bet! I do enjoy AND love the AK. As I wanted a more versatile weapon and the AK does all I could ask for. Believe it or not, I have not even sighted through the iron sights. When in the service (American) I shot with the M-14, using the old "Peep Sight" at 300 yards. Now, age and bifocals have caught up with me, and it was either a scope or ACOG sight. BTW, Thanks for the comment. I am considering dropping to 75 Yards since the point of impact on the bullet would be +/- 1" from 50 to 150 yards. Can't beat that! Colonel

imanaknut
01-19-2012, 07:00 PM
Welcome to the group !!! :welcome: