PDA

View Full Version : Just curious how people on here are prepping for the summer, and fall......

Ruskiegunlover
02-25-2012, 09:19 PM
My wife and I have been talking a lot for the last couple years about what we feel is coming. I am home all summer, as I am a high school teacher, and I have told her if I see on the news that Iran has been attacked, I intend to go buy as much dried and canned food as possible, and try to beat the rush. We already have about 1.5-2 months supply of food in our basement....But, if it happens, I see things going to hell very quickly. Gas prices going up, food prices going up, clothing, everything going up......Currenly I have a lot of canned veggies like corn and green beans, ramen noodles, spam, and things like that. A few MRE's. Plenty of ammo. It would not be GREAT, but we would survive for at least several months, and if we thinned out the food, it might last longer.

Water in 2 liter plastic bottles, but now I fear the chemicals leaching from the plastic. What do you guys think of that? I think glass containers would be crazy expensive to buy, and I figured that 2 liter pop bottles would be essentially free and would hold a fair amount of water. Anyone else use them?

Need a bucket of chlorine for water purification, but still do not know what type to buy.....or how to use it.

Guess just thinking about all of this, as we are talking about this summer, and how bad/ crazy it might end up being.....

Goodman
02-25-2012, 10:03 PM
Have you looked in the GN survival forum? http://www.gunsnet.net/forumdisplay.php?64-Survival-Forum

Cypher
02-25-2012, 10:12 PM
I would highly suggest buying whatever supplies you can well before any event happens. We had a huge ice storm come through a few years ago that took out electricity across then entire metro area and the first day it was near impossible to find heaters, batteries, lanterns, flashlights and bottled water.