PDA

View Full Version : Cuts on gas piston

pctek3050
06-26-2012, 03:13 PM
Hi I am a novice ak 47 owner. I have a century arms wasr 10. The rifle shoots great and did not appear to have any of the various issues that I have heard about with century arms rifles. When I first bought it I took it apart for cleaning and inspection and everything looked fine, After having fired 100 rounds through it I decided to clean it and see how everything look. I have notice to small marks on the bottom of the gas piston that I do not believe where there when I first cleaned after purchase. Can anyone tell me what they are, are they something I have to worry about. Thanks for any help!!

http://www.gunsnet.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=1462&d=1340741586
http://www.gunsnet.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=1463&d=1340741586

imanaknut
06-26-2012, 04:47 PM
Welcome to the group !!! :welcome:

I have never seen a piston with what looks like a proof mark, other than the Made in USA marks on some of the Tapco pistons.

Personally I would go ahead and fire the weapon, but keep an eye on that area of the gas piston. It shouldn't be a problem as the piston itself should be installed slightly loose on the carrier, and if that amount of slop doesn't beat things to death, I don't think that mark should hurt.

Added a couple of your pictures for those of us who are lazy, and I speak from experience. :D

Schuetzenman
06-26-2012, 05:52 PM
Frankly that looks too symetrical to be a random thing. I also say not to worry, you have a long way to go before it could be worn in two pieces, not that it ever would actually do that. Welcome to Gunsnet.

pctek3050
06-26-2012, 10:51 PM
Welcome to the group !!! :welcome:

I have never seen a piston with what looks like a proof mark, other than the Made in USA marks on some of the Tapco pistons.