PDA

View Full Version : Hi , Im new to AK's

Gh0zt36
07-03-2012, 03:16 PM
This is my first. it is a pristine MAK 90 I got it with a Type 56 norinco SKS as well . The alleged story is neither were fired the guy I got them from said. He got them from an doomsday uncle who passed before doomsday came and never shot them and the nephew said he never shot them either.

From what I read I did good. I like the fact the mak 90 is 1.5mm steel so it will be resistant to trigger pin metal wear and other fatigue problems thinner steel has.

I traded for an old motorcycle that needed a complete teardown because EVERY gasket on it leaked and spedo didnt work was worth maybe 800 ??

Anyway I dig the platform . I've already had someone offer me a ruger 556 AR for both but I dont think im going to get rid of these.

The mak I will convert to 922(r) compliant pistol grip because the rear of the thumb hole grip is squared off and really uncomfortable.

This mak is a straight cut receiver too so I got lucky again. The SKS I think Im just going to add a couple tapco 20 rd mags . maybe the tapco stock.

So here they are.

http://www.gunsnet.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=1486&d=1341346191

Helen Keller
07-03-2012, 03:20 PM
Pretty up the MAK, I'd check out ironwood and get a US made . chinese set, pricey but makes it look immaculate.

Good deal on it being straight cut too. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Leave the SKS alone, Tapco and SKS should never be used in the same hemisphere.

Gh0zt36
07-03-2012, 03:32 PM
lol why no tapco and SKS ? I really just want the detachable 20 rd magazines ..... I dont like the duck bill fixed mag

stinker
07-03-2012, 04:17 PM
I tried some detachable mags on an sks i used to have. More of a pain in the rear honestly. I liked it as is more in the end.

Pretty MAK too.

Welcome to the boards

Gh0zt36
07-03-2012, 05:56 PM
I tried some detachable mags on an sks i used to have. More of a pain in the rear honestly. I liked it as is more in the end.

Pretty MAK too.