PDA

View Full Version : Need a great AK in the $700 range.

Mainer
07-19-2012, 01:29 AM
Been comparing these 2 rifles on Atlantic Firearms....any ideas? Which is better and why sort of stuff.

http://www.atlanticfirearms.com/storeproduct1068.aspx

http://www.atlanticfirearms.com/storeproduct1057.aspx

Also, anyone know any better AK's for the money that I want to spend, or where I can get these same rifle for less? I'm new to this AK stuff, as I already do or have owned everything else. I'm a former Marine rifle/pistol coach and am now a Police Officer. I want the most gun for my money and just want an AK that shoots as well as I do (or think that I do).

Thanks guys / gals,

Mainer

blade
07-19-2012, 05:07 AM
Welcome Mainer & thanks for your service!!!!!!! ( past/present )

I think most all Kalashnikovs' are gr8. That said, I think you'll like most any version.
Of the two you linked.....I believe the top one is a Saiga. Lot of fans of the Saiga.
I don't have a clue to the bottom one.

Ol' imaaknut will be around shortly & give ya the straight skinny on the Kalashnikov.

Be safe!!!!!!!!!

:animatedsalute:

stinker
07-19-2012, 05:58 AM
Both are great looking rifles. You could quite hapliiy provide a loving home for either one i think.

Welcome to the boards.

FunkyPertwee
07-19-2012, 06:39 AM
The Russian one ($759) is going to come with a chromed bore, while the "Polish" uses a US made barrel I believe.

Personally, I'd go for the Russian.

Schuetzenman
07-19-2012, 06:49 AM
I like your first one linked for the reasons pointed out and the laminated stock which wasn't pointed out. A converted Saiga uses a basic rifle that is built in Russia and is going to be the closest to an actual AKM. Nothing like having real Russian arsenal proof marks on the receiver.

videodon
07-19-2012, 11:13 AM