PDA

View Full Version : Steel In Your Eye

aliceinchains
08-27-2010, 08:38 PM
Ever have steel in your eye! I am a welder / fitter. Presently working on a stack that is getting UT tested. So a lot of back grinding involved.

This is the third time i got home over the years and realized my eye is scratching and there might be metal there. So depending i might wait until Monday to have it drilled out.

imanaknut
08-27-2010, 09:01 PM
Although it has never happened to me, I had a friend that got some steel in his eye and he waited to go to the doctor a bit too long. The steel started to rust and he almost lost his eye to the infection.

Don't fool around. If you feel there is something in your eye, don't fool around and get it checked.

deth502
08-27-2010, 09:09 PM
im always getting shit in my eyes, and i still never wear saftey glasses. i just let it go. sooner or later, it flows out with the puss and its fine.

maybe thats why i cant see shit??

abpt1
08-27-2010, 09:37 PM
Ever have steel in your eye! I am a welder / fitter. Presently working on a stack that is getting UT tested. So a lot of back grinding involved.

This is the third time i got home over the years and realized my eye is scratching and there might be metal there. So depending i might wait until Monday to have it drilled out. Man I have been welding and grinding for 20+ years now ....
just flush it it should come out with a good stream of saline across not directly... If you cant get it out go to the Hospital seriously it not worth your sight . They have the right stuff to get it out and a tetanus shot ...

Tracy
08-27-2010, 11:35 PM
Yep, had steel in my eye once...and battery acid...and jalepenio juice and, I'm sure, some other things that I can't think of right now. It's all fun.

08-27-2010, 11:49 PM
I've had flash burns that felt like metal in my eyes.