PDA

View Full Version : I think I win!!

Mars4Hire
09-11-2012, 08:45 AM
Hey all,

Lengthy story follows. Sorry, but I just gotta tell it.

I'm relatively new to the Ak owner scene. Shot them tons while overseas etc but never really spent anytime thinking about them beyond the user skills.

Anyway I wasn't really looking for one but a guy I know (not well, more of an acquaintance) says to me in passing that he wanted to sell his Ak and wanted me to spread the word.

So I asked him what kind it was and he says, "it's a Chinese knock off from Polytech." I asked what a Chinese knock off was and he says, "it's not Russian it's a knock off made by the Chinese."

So I said, "Oh ok" (cuz I'm brilliant).

Anyway I had the fore thought to ask if it was preban and what he was looking to get for it. He said yes he thought it was since he "bought it new, back in the late '80's." He said he wanted $900 for it and that it came with 6 30rd mags and 2 5rd mags. I didn't even know there was such a thing as 5rd mags but whatever. He said he bought the mags at the same time he bought the gun.

Ok so here is the NO WAY(!) part..... He said he would throw in all the ammo he had for it which was 940rds in a wood crate.

So I said ok I would pass it along. So on my way home I thought maybe I should buy it since I don't have one and had most of the price he was asking. So I called him the next day and said I wanted to see it because I was thinking about buying it. On my way to meet him I stopped at the bank took out $700 I had set aside thinking I would leave it as a deposit.

When I got to his house he showed me the gun and we talked for a bit. The gun looked UNUSED as did all of the mags. So he said something about needing to sell is ASAP cuz he need some cash for something. I told him I had $700 on me but that that was all I could do for now and if he could wait till Oct 1st I could probably come up with the rest.