PDA

View Full Version : How about them Dissipators?

Dr. Gonzo GED
10-19-2012, 03:49 PM
Hey guys, I'm doing the window shopping thing for an AR upper and these caught my eye:

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/840432/del-ton-dissipator-carbine-kit-ar-15-556x45mm-nato-1-in-9-twist-16-barrel-upper-assembly-lower-parts-kit-m4-collapsible-buttstock-pre-ban?cm_vc=subv1951250

Has everything I need (plus a couple redundant lower parts). And the price is allright! I'm, a complete noob though when it comes to AR's (this is my first one ever) so I need a little help on choices.

My question is; How reliable are these dissipators compared to the old stand by styles (Full length and M4)?

Is it worth the $$$$, or should I just buy an M4gery like everybody else?

slamfire51
10-19-2012, 04:46 PM
I had one and see no advantage.
All you need now is a bolt carrier group.

Dr. Gonzo GED
10-19-2012, 04:50 PM
I had one and see no advantage.
All you need now is a bolt carrier group.
Looks like it comes with a decent BCG:

The Bolt Carrier is machined from 8620 Steel for strength, incorporates a properly staked, chrome lined gas key, and houses a Carpenter 158 Steel Bolt that has been High Pressure Tested and Magnetic Particle Inspected to guarantee a consistent, structurally sound part.

Did you encounter any dissadvantages though? Some "internet personalities" have reported poor reliability due to rifle length gas system on a carbine length barrel. Buit the reviews on Midway are pretty darn positive. (To me the advantage is I can complete my AR for less than $500.)

Was yours ever finicky though? I'm more concerned about reliability than anything else.

imanaknut
10-19-2012, 05:10 PM
The big advantage of the Dissipator is the longer sight radius over the standard 16 inch barrel setup.

Partisan1983
10-19-2012, 05:16 PM
The biggest problem I have seen when it comes to Dissy's is who and how it was made.