PDA

View Full Version : some more rqts for my first AK

dogsoldier
10-23-2012, 01:31 AM
OK... so I'm still a novice. But in the last couple days I've decided I want traditional wood furnature. I know in my first thread I want to keep the cost down, but a milled receiver sure would be nice. Not that this has anything to do with the receiver being milled or stamped, but I've heard the Saiga's are better than the Wasr 10s. Is this true? If so, why? I've recently come into a bunch of Wolf ammo, and I'd sure like something to shoot it out of. I've got ads in a couple places stating I have a Para 1911 Super Hawg long slide for trade. Its a .45ACP and in mint condition. It comes with two factory mags and one aftermarket 12 round mag, a blackhawk holster and the box. I'm figuring this is all worth approx $850. I also have 760 rounds of various types of ammo that can be added to the deal (or not). What AK can I get for this trade, especially hoping that if I include the ammo, I can get a couple hundred back?

Woogiebear
10-23-2012, 05:22 AM
From the people I have talked to and on this site, a Saiga is the closest thing you can get to an actual honest to God AK. I have only handled a couple, but they feel real nice. Wasr 10s, like I said before, are bottom barrel. They still work, but it's pretty hit and miss as far as quality.

PS, nothing wrong with a stamped receiver. I have one on my underfolder and it shoots fine.

smittylite
10-23-2012, 10:23 AM
get a Yugo Zastava PAP M70. They are made in Serbia and imported by Century. They are built like a freight train, very solid.

El Laton Caliente
10-23-2012, 11:23 AM
The VEPRs are another option that IMHO are a better buy right now.

Yugo PAP are a third...

I personally would go VEPR, I think they have the edge over Sagia in quality.

imanaknut
10-23-2012, 11:43 AM