PDA

View Full Version : New to the forums in need of some help

Revenge2269
12-12-2012, 02:12 PM
Hey all, new to the forums here. I suppose I should also note that I am new to firearms in general and this will be my first purchase. I'm taking my wife up to a buddy's lodge in the mountains during the week of December 21st (In case SHTF :P) and although he has several ARs and an AK47 (origin unknown to me), I would like to try and get a rifle of my own before then. I've been talking with a friend who happens to be an AR nut and at first he recommended that platform, but after chatting for half an hour and discussing financial restraints as well as realistic goals he told me an AK47 might be better afterall. Now I only have two friends that I would seriously take firearm advice from, one being the AR nut who says romanian, yugo and rusian AKs are the only way to go and a friend from work who said the one thing the chinese make high quality is firearms, and he says norinco is the way to go for an AK. Any how, I had no issue finding a plethora of armory websites with AR15 variants but I cannot for the life of me find something for AK47s. I did find one site that had russian, romanian and yugo rifles for sale but they were ugly/too expensive/variants that I don't want. I have several FFL dealers nearby but no idea how to find a listing for norinco AKs, preferrably mak90. If any of you know how I can get something like this or help me on my way to get an AK in the next 8 days, it would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the long post, I'm tired as hell and I wanted to try and explain as much as I could in hopes that I'll have some solid info tonight. Thanks all! - Dave from Washington

Dr. Gonzo GED
12-12-2012, 02:32 PM
There are many serviceable AK varrients out there. Remember that these machines come from societies that valued utility and economy over apearance, so most of them are not as streamlined and pretty as the machines from the west.