PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a gas tube question

01-12-2013, 12:15 AM
I am new to AK's but not new to guns. I acquired a Romanian AK, it has had the gas tube removed but fires and cycles rounds like a champ. Why would someone have removed it? Is this some sort of mod? Or should I be finding a new gas tube and figuring out what has been done to it and reverse it?

Thanks in advance.

Woogiebear
01-12-2013, 08:39 AM
I am trying to figure out how your AK is functioning. You are saying that there is no gas tube and I have never heard of an AK being fired like that. With out the receiver cover, sure, but not the gas tube. If you could post some pics so we can take a look, that would be great. My best advice would be to just replace the gas tube. With all those gases shooting out undirected, I guess you could increase the chance of burning yourself.

binky59
01-12-2013, 01:27 PM
Yea I don't understand how your gun is even operating without a gastube. Being a gas
blowback system it seems impossible. I'm with Woogiebear on this one, you must mean the receiver cover.
Is the missing piece behind your rear sight or in front above the barrel?

deth502
01-12-2013, 02:04 PM
all the gas tube really does is guide the piston back into the gas block and protect the shooter. the majority of the force that is imparted to the carrrier comes from the high presure gasses tht hi the piston face inside of the gas block. after the carrier is set upon its travel in that initial 1/2" or so, once it leave the gas block and enters the tube, the gas is RAPIDLY bled off. some aks have gas bleed off holes right in the back of the gas block before the piston face even goes back into the gas tube. soem have a series of holes in the front of the gas tube. ALL of them have a huge gas tube with absolutely no gas seal in it at all to hold any residual pressure in them.

as long as the piston face reliably goes back into its recess in the gas block, there is no need for a gas tube to function.