PDA

View Full Version : Another newbie ?. What is this bracket?

rwalke10
01-17-2013, 07:34 PM
Hi. 1st post. I'm not a newbie to firearms, but I've only been an AK owner for a couple of weeks. i've wanted one for years, and decided I better jump when I saw all the insanity brewing. With the cold weather here in the midwest, I haven't even had an opportunity to send any rounds downrange yet. That will change soon :)

One of my AKs (did I mention I jumped in with both feet?) has a bracket on the LH side of the receiver that I can not identify. The rifle in question is a GP / WASR-10 / 63. I've looked at countless AK pics and have yet to see this on any of those.

Here is the bracket I can't identify. Can anyone help with this?

http://www.gunsnet.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=2166&d=1358468781

Other info from the rifle;

http://www.gunsnet.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=2167&d=1358468844

http://www.gunsnet.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=2169&d=1358469048

Here are some general pics of the pair;

http://www.gunsnet.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=2168&d=1358468889

Anyway, glad to be aboard. I'm really looking forward to learning about this seemingly indestructable firearm.

Full Otto
01-17-2013, 08:38 PM
Welcome
That bracket is a scope mount. If you're gonna add a scope to an AK that's the way to go.
You can take it on and off and maintain zero.
Now to go look for a pic of the bracket for the scope cause I know you'll want to know

Full Otto
01-17-2013, 09:07 PM
OK technically I guess it should be called a base for a side rail scope mount.
There are lots to choose from but this should give you an idea

http://i48.tinypic.com/dykves.jpg

imanaknut
01-17-2013, 09:18 PM
Welcome to the group !!! :welcome:

Hope you don't mind that I added your pictures to your thread to make it easier for lazy people like me. :D

And from the bottom picture, welcome to the AK-Addiction!!! Nice pair you have there.

Cold in the midwest? Wait until next week!!!

rwalke10