PDA

View Full Version : subsonic .44 question

turdypointbuck
07-25-2013, 09:50 AM
I have a couple bolt rifles in 44... a ruger 77/44 integrally suppressed and I have a Remington 788 in 44 mag on the way,I believe the 788 is a pretty slow 1-38 twist,will that stabilize anything subsonic? Any idea what a rebarrel would run me? Thanks guys I'm new to this!

ltorlo64
07-25-2013, 12:13 PM
I have no idea, but wanted to welcome you to the group. I have seen your name pop up in a few of the discussions. Hope you enjoy yourself and look forward to seeing you in more discussions.

L1A1Rocker
07-25-2013, 01:06 PM
I have a couple bolt rifles in 44... a ruger 77/44 integrally suppressed and I have a Remington 788 in 44 mag on the way,I believe the 788 is a pretty slow 1-38 twist,will that stabilize anything subsonic? Any idea what a rebarrel would run me? Thanks guys I'm new to this!

No, and sorry no. Your 77/44 should have had a douglas 11:1 barrel installed by the manufacture of the silencer. I'm in the process right now of a 96-44 integral build and will be swapping out the barrel for the Douglas.

Of course I'm assuming that you would be shooting the big heavy bullets. But if your shooting normal bullet weights through your Remington at sub sonic speeds, you'll be fine.

turdypointbuck
07-25-2013, 05:45 PM
Thanks for the responses guys... L1A1. I'm not worried bout the ruger,its twist is good through 300grains...but the Remington is my main concern..when u say NORMAL bullet weights and it will be fine in the 1-38,what weight is considered normal 180-250?? If those will stabilize subsonic through the 788 ill keep the stock barrel as it is VERY accurate with supersonic loads! Thanks again for any help guys!

L1A1Rocker
07-25-2013, 08:06 PM