PDA

View Full Version : My eotech finally took a dump.

Citizen Pain
09-19-2010, 08:52 PM
I've been using a 552 since 2005, I've mounted it on an m4 (1000rds), m240b+/- 10,000rds, m249 2000rds, an AR-15 5000rds and a cetme (appx 1000rds). And finally it looks like the cetme may be killing it. I would never bad mouth eotech, their product has served me very well over the years, but last week I went through 200ish of .308 at the local range on a cetme. As I was firing the sight began to go dim, I would stop firing for a moment and the reticle would come back, start firing again and I would lose it. Switched batteries but still a NO-GO. Called my regional eotech rep but he hasn't rung me back yet. I'm going to wait a week then go through eotechs standard customer service and I'll let you know what my experience is. Just giving everyone a heads up, as it turns out eotechs may not be invincible. I also have a 553 on an ak 74, and it's still goin strong, I bought that at the same time back in 2005. Anyway, I will post a follow up on my experience with customer service.

ATAK, Inc.
09-19-2010, 09:06 PM
11,000 rounds of .308 and 8,000 rounds of.223 is pretty impresive! The .308 is way more shock than the .223!

Uncle Scary
09-20-2010, 12:45 AM
I've never owned an eotech, but I've heard that they have a common problem with the battery terminal. Something about recoil of many repeated firings causing the battery terminal to weaken in the models where the batteries are parallel to the axis of recoil. That's why the XPS models have the battery installed perpendicular. It's my understanding that many that have this problem with their Eotechs just reinforce the battery terminal so that it makes full contact with the battery.

Flinter
09-20-2010, 06:22 AM
I'm glad you are happy with it, but honestly.....5 years of service from a 500 dollar sight would piss me off. It's actually making me rethink wanting one.

Is that the average lifespan?

Citizen Pain
09-21-2010, 08:54 AM