PDA

View Full Version : The SEAL who killed bin Laden

Richard Simmons
11-07-2014, 06:08 PM
http://www.foxnews.com/us/2014/11/07/disclosure-by-seal-who-says-fatally-shot-bin-laden-sparks-debate-in-special-ops/?intcmp=ob_homepage_US&intcmp=obnetwork

What do you guys think? Should he have revealed his identity?

As a veteran I understand why you keep certain things secret for a number of reasons, unit security, tactics, sources, etc. In this instance though the service member is no longer on active duty so it's not like he is taking himself out of play, so to speak. As long as he doesn't also reveal anything classified I don't see where there is anything that will harm anyone but possibly himself or his extended family through possible retaliation.

On the flip side I guess certain folks shouldn't talk about certain things. The special ops guys, from my limited experience when I was in uniform tend to be pretty tightlipped for what ever reason. Kind of the way they've always been and I can see where some colleagues, past and present may want things to stay that way. Thoughts?

l921428x
11-07-2014, 06:15 PM
I do not know the answer, but to me it just doesn't feel right. kind of shoddy or cheap.
jmo.....

Schuetzenman
11-07-2014, 06:35 PM
I wouldn't of stepped up and admitted it as I would be worried that some Muslim scumbag might come after me or my family / relatives. OTOH, money makes life better and being a retired vet I'm sure he doesn't have a lot of it.

N/A
11-07-2014, 07:10 PM
Report I heard was that he had already been outer on a website. Also heard another SEAL had already claimed he pulled the trigger on Osama.

Dan Morris
11-07-2014, 07:22 PM
I do not know the answer, but to me it just doesn't feel right. kind of shoddy or cheap.
jmo.....

Don't know about now days, in the days of yore.....I never knew a Beret that ever talked about any mission they had been on!!!! Ever.....
Dan

NAPOTS
11-07-2014, 08:54 PM