PDA

View Full Version : Is This a Good Idea

ltorlo64
12-19-2010, 03:38 PM
I was just reading through another thread that was talking about sight options for a defensive shotgun. I have an 870 Wingmaster with a 28" barrel that is great on birds, but a little long for home defense.

My idea is to buy a slug barrel, either 18" or 20" for use as a defensive shotgun. I have changed out the barrel on an 870 before and it is not difficult. I would gain rifle type sights that are alread on the barrel and it would shorten the length by 8-10". From Cabela's the cost of a barrel is about $150, so I am sure I can find them cheaper if I look a little bit.

So, is this a good idea or am I missing something?

Dieselbuilder
12-19-2010, 03:50 PM
I would say GO FOR IT!
I did the same thing with a Glenfield 778 I own. It is the same gun as a Marlin 120. I found a slug barrel for a Marlin 120 on the net for $25 + shipping. Got it home, removed the front sight, shortened the barrel and reinstalled the front sight.
Before:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v312/Dieselbuilder/Before.jpg
Glenfield 778 12ga with field barrel.

And After:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v312/Dieselbuilder/After.jpg
Glenfield 778 with Marlin 120 slug barrel shortened to 18 3/4".

Most of the time it wears the shorter barrel, come hunting season I just swap the original barrel back on and go hunting.

filthy phil
12-19-2010, 03:53 PM
I was just reading through another thread that was talking about sight options for a defensive shotgun. I have an 870 Wingmaster with a 28" barrel that is great on birds, but a little long for home defense.

My idea is to buy a slug barrel, either 18" or 20" for use as a defensive shotgun. I have changed out the barrel on an 870 before and it is not difficult. I would gain rifle type sights that are alread on the barrel and it would shorten the length by 8-10". From Cabela's the cost of a barrel is about $150, so I am sure I can find them cheaper if I look a little bit.