PDA

View Full Version : Decisions, Decisions!

ltorlo64
07-29-2010, 02:08 PM
I had just about decided that I was going to retire from the Navy in about 2 years. Then I talked to my Detailor, Placement Officer and Community Manager. These are the guys that write my orders, talk to the command to make sure they are getting what the ship needs, and the guy that writes the manning policy for my designator (specialty).

So here is the deal, I currently have 26 years on active duty, a little over 15 as an enlisted man where I made Senior Chief (E8). For the last 11 years I have been a Limited Duty Officer and have attained the rank of Lieutenant Commander (LCDR) (equivalent of a Major). Mandatory retirement for a LCDR is 30 years, and it generally takes 15 years to make LCDR. I saw no reason to go all the way to 30 if I could not get promoted again, so I was going to retire at about 28 years.

Yesterday I spoke to those guys from the first paragraph and found out that I will most probably go to the Commander (CDR) board a year earlier than expected because my designator is undermanned at the senior levels. It would be pretty nice to make CDR and it would raise my retirement by a substantial amount. Mandatory retirement for a CDR is not until 35 years.

Here are the two problems. First, I was told that if I decide to stay in and try for CDR, and make it I would go from a ship to a ship. Not sure I wish to do another 7-8 years straight sea time. I would also have to stay in until about 33 years to be elegible to retire at that rank. Looking even farther, if I stick around as a CDR for another year, so I would go out to 34 years, I would be elegible for the Captian board. I never even considered the possibility of making CAPT before.