PDA

View Full Version : Good price on a FEG SA85M?

jawn
03-12-2011, 07:45 PM
Found a KBI labeled FEG SA85M for sale at a local shop, without the original furniture (now it has a polymer hand guard and an AR-style side-folding stock). What would you guys consider a good price on it? The shop is asking around 1000 for it. Bear in mind I live in a state where AKs are a regulated firearm and in an area where gun prices are usually above what most would consider national average.

I want to get an AK, and while Arsenals seem to be a safe choice, what I've read about FEGs intrigues me.

aliceinchains
03-12-2011, 08:47 PM
Welcome to the board. I am no AK expert but i don't think the price is bad. For what it is worth here is an old thread from another board. http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=93512

imanaknut
03-12-2011, 08:51 PM
Welcome to the group !!! :welcome:

These days the prices of the post-Bush-ban AKs have been going up, and add to that what you say about where you live makes $1000 a reasonable price. You could always sell that silly AR stuff and get a good AKM stock set for it. :D

The SA-85Ms were really nice rifles, in both pre and post ban versions. Above average fit and finish, and great shooters.

abpt1
03-13-2011, 09:23 AM
Welcome to the group !!! :welcome:

These days the prices of the post-Bush-ban AKs have been going up, and add to that what you say about where you live makes $1000 a reasonable price.

The SA-85Ms were really nice rifles, in both pre and post ban versions. Above average fit and finish, and great shooters.

Agreed.

I wouldn't sell mine for 1000.

jawn
03-13-2011, 12:58 PM
Thanks for the welcome guys!

Yeah, I think I should be able to negotiate the price down a little, so I think I'm just going to make my first foray into AKs with that FEG SA85M.

@abpt1: Anything I should know about SA85Ms? I'm not buying it because I'm necessarily into collecting, I do plan on shooting it quite a bit.

Schuetzenman