PDA

View Full Version : Norinco 56 barrel questions

Medicinehorse
03-24-2011, 11:14 AM
I need a replacement barrel for an early 56 series Norinco that screws in . From what I understand a used barrel is tough to find because of the Chinese parts ban so is anyone making replacement barrels for these? Also with a used barrel the pin locations would most likely not line up for proper headspace ?If I were to find a used barrel can the pin locations be migged up and redrilled or would the hardness of the welded areas present a problem when redrilling the pin holes? Am I on track here ? Thanks for any help on this ,I have built ARs but this is my first AK project.:confused1:

Medicinehorse
03-24-2011, 08:30 PM
After a little more research I discovered that the barrel does not screw in as the clown I bought it from told me. It is a 56s type .I am new to the AK s, I bought this one for 150 at the local flea market missing the bolt cover and it had a fake can welded on it with what must of been a stick welder.Thats why it needs a barrel. The guy had it in the bottom of his tool box [in his truck bed] long enough for it to have rub marks on the left side.The wood is shot,The more I look at it the worse it is.

romak10/63UF
03-24-2011, 08:41 PM
If you can post pictures maybe you can save the barrel ? we are all very good at giving helpful information on how to fix minor problems people make on ak-47 type rifles.

imanaknut
03-24-2011, 09:55 PM
Welcome to the group !!! :welcome:

Are you sure the barrel is messed up? Granted getting it hot enough to stick weld a fake can on the end could damage it, but I would make sure that it is damaged before spending the time and money replacing it.

Did I read your second post correctly and you bought a complete rifle that was just missing the receiver cover???

Also, without pictures I am trying to make sure it is an AKM and not an SKS. Both were given Chinese model numbers of 56. Thanks!

Medicinehorse
03-27-2011, 11:38 PM