PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - AK47 Sight Alignment

RTBArms1603
03-30-2011, 03:34 PM
Newbie here.
I recently held a G Spec InterArms AK47 that I'm thinking of buying. It was equipped with stock front and rear sites. The problem was that I could not get my eye/cheek low enough to align for a proper sight picture.
Do these rifles need sight mods to get a comfortable sight pic?
If so, what is recommended?
I'd like to initially have a setup that will provide proper iron sight alignment, then later optics.
TIA for any helpful replies.
RTBArms1603

Krupski
03-30-2011, 05:09 PM
Newbie here.
I recently held a G Spec InterArms AK47 that I'm thinking of buying. It was equipped with stock front and rear sites. The problem was that I could not get my eye/cheek low enough to align for a proper sight picture.
Do these rifles need sight mods to get a comfortable sight pic?
If so, what is recommended?
I'd like to initially have a setup that will provide proper iron sight alignment, then later optics.
TIA for any helpful replies.
RTBArms1603

Welcome new guy! :welcome:

Yeah, AK iron sights aren't the best to use... even when they are aligned properly.

If you want to use iron sights AND get a decent sight picture AND actually hit what you're aiming at, I suggest replacing the rear sight with a peep sight. Several places sell them... and they just pop in - no gunsmithing required. Check here:

http://www.krebscustom.com/PartsPages/KalashnikovParts.shtml (about 2/3 down the page).

Here's another place: http://www.mojosights.com/

And another.... http://www.redstararms.com/index1.html?c1.html&1

Good luck, please feel free to post any question you may have and again WELCOME!

-- Roger

Solidus-snake
03-30-2011, 06:58 PM
Welcome to the forums :)

I agree with Krupski on this, as there's not really much you can do to improve the AKs standard sights.

Feel free to ask ANY questions, we try our best to help anyone out as much as we can.

RTBArms1603
04-01-2011, 12:12 PM