PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 Question

Ash
03-31-2011, 03:08 PM
I'm kicking around the idea of picking up an AR-15. A local pawn shop has a bushmaster that looks to be what I want for about $650. What I'm curious about is if on most AR's if the forearm can be replaced with one of those rail systems easily? I'd like to nab this and customize it down the road when I have more money and put a rail and front grip on it.

Forgive me if this is a fairly noobish question. I am very new to the world of the AR, just finding out how modular it was recently.

Thanks.

-Dan

AKTexas
03-31-2011, 03:11 PM
I'm kicking around the idea of picking up an AR-15. A local pawn shop has a bushmaster that looks to be what I want for about $650. What I'm curious about is if on most AR's if the forearm can be replaced with one of those rail systems easily? I'd like to nab this and customize it down the road when I have more money and put a rail and front grip on it.

Forgive me if this is a fairly noobish question. I am very new to the world of the AR, just finding out how modular it was recently.

Thanks.

-Dan

Welcome to the forum. Try this link for all your black rifle needs.

http://www.gunsnet.net/forumdisplay.php?22-Black-Rifle-Forum

FunkyPertwee
03-31-2011, 03:15 PM
AR handguars are easy to change. A Bushmaster will use normal AR parts including handguards.

$650 is a good price on a Bushy. Hope you enjoy it.

imanaknut
03-31-2011, 03:19 PM
Welcome to the group !!! :welcome:

The front handguards on AR-15s come in a couple of different sizes, but once you know the correct length, there are a zillion varieties of rail systems available.

Don't be afraid to ask questions. The only stupid question is the one you didn't ask, and then report that you spent money that you didn't need to, or bought the wrong parts, or bought a firearm at a ridiculous price. Ask away, we were all new to this at one time! :thumbsup: