PDA

View Full Version : Boyd's Blaster stock arrived and is now installed...

O.S.O.K.
07-31-2010, 04:11 PM
Well, I got the stock in good time and installed it. Turns out that the low rings on weaver rail that I had been using (which was good for the old stock) was much too low for this stock. So, I went to Walmart - yes believe it or not - they had 10-22 "see through" rings that put the Prostaff 4x rimfire scope in perfect alignment for this stock - go figure.

Well, since I had the thing apart, I decided to do a trigger job on it. Youtube is amazing for the things you can find there. Checked a disassembly vid, a trigger job vid and a fcg install trick vid - now I'm a 10-22 expert! :lol2:
Well here's the end result:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4091/4846886571_0010fabbbf_b.jpg

It looks and feels great. This is actually wooden stock - walnut! I know this because I had to drill the holes for the sling swivels - and walnut dust came out...

The trigger job that I did resulted in exactly no change that I can register... so I think I may be getting a timney trigger for this baby. The existing trigger is heavy and has excessive overtravel - none of which does anything for accuracy.

Oh, and somebody's going to ask - the barrel is a butler creek graphite model. Very lightweight and seems to be accurate when I can overcome the danged trigger.

Finally - Justinsaneok - I have your Hogue stock and a box so it'll go out to you on Monday.

I'll probably wait for the range trip with this until after the Timney trigger is installed.

slamfire51
07-31-2010, 05:40 PM
Hey, that's great looking stock. Sets off everything else.
I was going to ask if it was synthetic, but read it's walnut.
Good looks at a good price. Congrats!!!

justinsaneok
07-31-2010, 06:12 PM