PDA

View Full Version : A primer for buying straight razors

cevulirn
04-08-2011, 08:33 PM
I'm no expert, but I do seem to be the local razor guy, so I figured I'd share a few tips on buying antique straight razors. I mostly collect them with an eye towards use, but a good razor with some nice history is generally going to be something that could be made into a shaver.

Things to look for:

There are so many straight razor manufactures out there that it would be impossible for me to list the good ones, but the best straights come out of Sheffield, England and Solingen, Germany. Any razor stamped with one of these locations is worth a closer look. There are also quality razors made in the USA, but they're not really tied to location.

Pay attention to the blade, most older blades will have a patina, this is fine. Be wary of pitting though, especially on the edge. Pitting can cause pinholes through the blade, and the only way to 'fix' them is to remove material from the edge. Also take a VERY close look at the edge. If you can, lightly drag the edge across the edge of a fingernail. Any roughness or catching is bad, and means more work to hone the blade. (And can be used to argue down the price!) Also, make sure the blade isn't warped. Also pay attention to the 'other' curve of the blade. You want the blade to either be perfectly straight, or have a 'smile'. If a razor has a 'frown' stay away, it will take a lot of material removal to make it anything but something to look at.

Pay attention to the scales as well, unless you intend to re-scale the razor, there are a few things to take note of. The scales can be made of many materials, Horn and Celluloid are common in older razors, Bakelite, Plastic, and even Ivory are also out there, (among many others.) Pay attention to the way the blade closes, when it swings shut, it should be centered between the scales. If the scales have shrunk or warped it might not make a good user unless it's re-scaled.