PDA

View Full Version : Gunsmithing advice

KRUT555
04-18-2011, 11:56 AM
I'm asking for your advice on starting my own shop.
As I stated in another thread I have been apprenticing in a shop for 5 months,The shop i'm in works alot on older rifles,shotgun handguns, not much in the newer stuff, we do it all from stocks to bluing to total rebuilds.
What I am looking for is your opinion and problems you had so I don't make some of the mistakes you experinced.
I'm in my early 50's and this is going to be my deal after I retire in 3 years and may take over the shop I'm in as the boss is in his 70,s. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
KRUT555

Schuetzenman
04-18-2011, 09:48 PM
Speaking as a former 01 FFL that gave up the business I'll say this. There was more money to be made doing gunsmithing, gun refinishing, barreling and headspacing than there was in retail sales of guns and ammo.

If you're going to take over this established business you probably have a good leg up on being successful. I'd say you have to cater to your clientel, do what they are into wanting you to do. You can of course try and change who you attract and what weapons you would like to work on.

Example; say you wanted to do assault weaponry instead of Elmer Fudds bolt gun. There's plenty of folks that would seek you out for customization or parts to build up or have built up. AR15 rifles are easy to build, as such many of us build our own in our garages or on our kitchen tables.

Gun kote finishes, Dura Coat finishes, bluing, parkerizing, these can all be full time activities that can turn some good money. But remember if you're they only guy don't take on too much work and leave people waiting. Most people don't want their weapon out of their control for long. Most would prefer a 1 week turn around. 2 weeks turn around will lose some customers and so it goes, the longer the lead time the more people / customers that will not use your services.