PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have a hone on order?

cevulirn
05-01-2011, 08:14 PM
I decided to pick up a few more hones this week. One synthetic, on diamond, and one natural. I'll show ya pics and reviews when they get here :D

cevulirn
05-02-2011, 08:15 PM
Argh, I'm excited and I can't wait! I ordered a DMT 325 continuous diamond stone, (For flattening stones.) a 10000 grit Naniwa Super Stone, (for my razors) AND... A Translucent Arkansas bench hone, 2"x8". The finest natural sharpening stone that comes from America. From what I've read, once they're lapped, they can leave an extremely fine edge, and they last forever. They just hone slow. and take a LONG time to lap. Arkansas stones are of course a natural stone, so the actual fineness varies from stone to stone. I just have to wait and see how mine preforms.

Richard Simmons
05-07-2011, 07:05 AM
I've never used a hone before. How do you maintain them? Do you just wash them off or use some kind of cleaner?

cevulirn
05-07-2011, 11:11 PM
hone
1. A fine-grained whetstone for giving a keen edge to a cutting tool.

Over on the razor forum is generaly used instead of sharpening stone or other similar terms, mostly because when we sharpen razors we start with 'fine' and work our way up from there. The only time we use corser then a 1000 grit is for flattening other hones. Pretty much any bench stone can be considered a hone.