PDA

View Full Version : Barrel wobble?

infidel0910
05-12-2011, 02:12 AM
Hello all, new on here and have a question regarding my ak-74 that i got from budsguns. its a century arms model and i've put about 450 rnds through it. While cleaning it after the range i noticed that while holding the rifle vertical by the receiver with my left hand and the barrel with my right i notice some very slight movement. it appears the barrel is moving. It is not visually noticeable and fired fine at the range with no problems. My wasr 10/63 does not do this, so naturally it was cause for concern. I got into the AK game a year ago and fell in love, so im still kinda new to it all, trying to read a lot, lol. If anybody can shed some AK wisdom/knowledge on this situation, i would greatly appreciate it.

Schuetzenman
05-12-2011, 06:13 AM
Wobbly gas pistons are normal, wobbly barrels are NOT. Is it really the barrel or is the trunion that the barrel is pressed into, not riveted well to the receiver? In either case it means a lot less accuracy from the weapon.

infidel0910
05-12-2011, 07:21 PM
Wobbly gas pistons are normal, wobbly barrels are NOT. Is it really the barrel or is the trunion that the barrel is pressed into, not riveted well to the receiver? In either case it means a lot less accuracy from the weapon.

It may be the trunion or the barrel, I can't say for sure, I'll have to take a closer look. Either way it is a rivet problem right? Is this something I should try and fix or best let a gunsmith who is familiar with ak's fix it?

romak10/63UF
05-12-2011, 07:42 PM
The barrel is pressed in to the front trunnion then set in place with the barrel pin... if the barrel is self is moving with just the force of your hand movement wouldnt that meen two things... Excessive barrel pin hold size not matched up to the correct size...

Next would be the barrel it self is too small by micrometers pressed into the front trunnion...