Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mitchell's Mausers

Mitchell's Mausers

Looking at getting a k98, has anyone purchased one from Mitchell's ? just looking for some good or bad experiences.

I could easily be wrong here but, in the pastI seem to recall that the consense was they were over priced with little real coloctor value due to them refinishing them. If you were willing to pay the prie though they were nice. At least that is what I seem to recall reding last time some one asked about them. I am by no means an expert though so wait for some one who really knows to chime in.
    Doobie Doobie Doo..

That's also what I heard.

High prices for refinished, force matched guns. Supposedly some of the receiver stamping is done in house to make the gun look more collectible than it is. The documentation that comes with them is also an in house thing.

Though, if the looks are worth the price to you, they are attractive looking guns, with nice presentation materials to go with them. Just not the authentic war relics they are made out to be. (When they were actual war relics, ol' Mitchell must have decided they weren't shiny enough...)

Iron Pumping Bastard aliceinchains's Avatar

Way over priced. Get one at a gunshow or else where. Mitchell's Mausers is the most expensive place to buy one.
    I am sitting in my angry chair!

yep

Get a real mauser.

Another vote for getting a real, non furbed mauser if it was me.

But I would like to add, that I recently got to shoot a MM that a friend bought, and his is beautifull, accurate shooting rifle..
    If you have the money, and dont have the time to search your own rifle out, then go for it, you wont be disapointed.

I bought a Yugo M48 thru them. It was advertised as never issued and it appeared to be that way. 300$ It was worth it to me. Don't see them advertised anymore. I've seen m48's for sale but they are beat up and not near the like new condition that the M48 from MM was in.