Thread: Questions on reloading british 38/200

Team GunsNetwork PLATINUM 10/2012 rci2950's Avatar

Questions on reloading british 38/200

Is there any brass i can use as a substitute aside from 38 S&W? Does anyone know what powder would closely match the original and what bullets? I know the bullet weight would be 200 grains. I read somewhere that they were plain lead but all i have seen in surplus or pictures are jacketed bullets. I am new to reloading handgun ammunition but not new to shotgun and rifle reloading.
    Gunsnet member since 2002
    Salt Water Cowboy - Dolphin 38

first thing, what are you shooting it in?
    PRAISE KEK
    FATHER OF CHAOS
    BRINGER OF DAY
    IN THY WEBBED HANDS WE PLACE OUR FAITH
    SHADILAY, SHADILAY!

Team Guns Network Silver 04/2013 alismith's Avatar

There was a reloading/information book out sometime back that might offer you some help. I think it was called, Cartridges of the World or Reloading Cartridges of the World, or something like that. It showed all the cartridges that have ever been made and how to make older cartridges from new brass (which cases can be cut, stretched, fire-formed, or whatever) to create the older, obsolete cases.

If you could get a copy of that book (I think it's still being published) that would be a big help.
    "Valar morghulis; valar dohaeris."

Commucrats are most efficient at converting sins and crimes to accidents or misunderstandings.-Oswald Bastable

Making good people helpless won't make bad people harmless.

Freedom isn't free.

"Attitude is the paintbrush that colors our world." TV Series, Haven.

My Spirit Animal has rabies.

I'd rather be an American than a Democrat.

"If you can make a man afraid, you can control him" Netflix Series, The Irregulars

Moderator & Team Gunsnet Platinum 07/2011 O.S.O.K.'s Avatar