Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Did Everyone Get Their Final Windows 7 Updates Today?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Team GunsNet Silver 03/2014 sevlex's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CO
    Posts
    4,305

    Question Did Everyone Get Their Final Windows 7 Updates Today?

    I had three machines to do. Now, it's back to the basement for 2 of them.

    Maybe one will be a Linux plaything.
    Telling the truth is treason in an empire of lies.

    WWG1WGA

    Nothing good ever comes from a pinched sphincter

  2. #2
    Administrator imanaknut's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Indiana, a state that is trying to remain free.
    Posts
    10,988
    As long as Microsoft leaves me alone I will be happy to play on an out of date system. When I was forced to "upgrade" from XP to 7 I had to pitch my printer as the manufacture didn't have a compatible driver. If I get forced to 10 I will be force to their competition.

  3. #3
    Team Guns Network Silver 04/2013 alismith's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    44th "Free" State
    Posts
    12,574
    Crap, I'm still using my XP right now. Not worried about upgrading anything. If this dies out, I'll switch over to my iPad and use that.
    "Valar morghulis; valar dohaeris."

    "Never say, "gun control" but instead say, "victim disarmament." - L Neil Smith

    Making good people helpless won't make bad people harmless.

    Freedom isn't free.

    "Attitude is the paintbrush that colors our world." TV Series, Haven.

    My Spirit Animal has rabies.

    I'd rather be an American than a Democrat.

  4. #4
    Senior Member JTHunter's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,636
    Quote Originally Posted by imanaknut View Post
    As long as Microsoft leaves me alone I will be happy to play on an out of date system. When I was forced to "upgrade" from XP to 7 I had to pitch my printer as the manufacture didn't have a compatible driver. If I get forced to 10 I will be force to their competition.
    Ditto. My HP printer that I had been using from 98 through XP had to be replaced. Same for a recording program called CoolEdit 96 that I used to record music from the TV so I could burn them to CDs.

    Quote Originally Posted by alismith View Post
    Crap, I'm still using my XP right now. Not worried about upgrading anything. If this dies out, I'll switch over to my iPad and use that.
    So is my parent. We just had to replace the power supply to get it running again as they are 90, dealing with replacing their scanner and printer along with a new computer, just wasn't in the picture.
    And that XP machine used to be mine! When their XP Home system died, they took my XP Pro and I had to get 7.
    Last edited by JTHunter; 01-13-2020 at 11:01 PM.
    “I have little patience with people who take the Bill of Rights for granted. The Bill of Rights, contained in the first ten amendments to the Constitution, is every American’s guarantee of freedom.” - - President Harry S. Truman, “Years of Trial and Hope”

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    harms way
    Posts
    14,897
    Can't disable "telemetry" or updates in 10, let alone most all newer pc hardware has a separate and invisible system running in parallel that watches everything you do or anything, no software needed.
    “The two enemies of the people are criminals and government, so let us tie the second down with the chains of the Constitution so the second will not become the legalized version of the first.”
    -Thomas Jefferson

  6. #6
    Administrator imanaknut's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Indiana, a state that is trying to remain free.
    Posts
    10,988
    Well I am getting my final updates as I type this. From what I have read, continuing use of my PC using 7 will be like normal except for the fact that hackers love to attack Windows machines. Don't like the idea that if I "upgrade" to 10 I might lose some valuable programs, and my Office suite will not work on 10. I understand why microsoft does this, but even though it might piss off a few thousand customers, they really don't care.

  7. #7
    Administrator Krupski's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    ┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
    Posts
    15,259
    Quote Originally Posted by sevlex View Post
    I had three machines to do. Now, it's back to the basement for 2 of them.

    Maybe one will be a Linux plaything.
    Don't use Windoze. Therefore, no security problems.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •