Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Dragunov Type Rifle"

"Dragunov Type Rifle"

Afternoon folks!

I'm considering an FPK Dragunov Type Sniper rifle in 7.62 by 54 from Atlantic Arms. I'm new to this gun, and I realize it's not a true Dragunov, rather a Romanian varient, but I'd like opinions on the quality of this unit if anyone has heard anything about them, and what grain round from all those available should I use? It's intended as a long range weapon.

Thanks for the help!

Gary Thomas (You'll pry my gun from my cold dead hands Uncle Sam!)

Well they are technicly PSL's not FPK. They aren't Draganov's though they are designed with a similer role in mind. The PSL is basicly a streched out RPK rechambered in 7.62x54R. It has a long stroke gas psiton while the draganov has a short stroke gas pciston. They aren't bad rifles, I like mine. They tend to like light ball better than the heavier bullets.
    Doobie Doobie Doo..

Team GunsNet Gold 05/2011

I like them, the springs under the steel buttplate really tame the recoil.

I love the PSO clone's reticle, it does not obstruct the target like fat cross hairs can. The horizontal lead marks help when shooting a running coyote and the BDC drum is very nice.

The short stock is great for thick clothing and the large AK safety is good for manipulating while wearing gloves.

The only thing not to love is the bleached baby shit yellow stocks they come with. I am trying to dye mine a Russianlike red and the sheer amount of glue in the stock is kicking my ass. The handguard and forestock took an acceptable amount of red but the stock is 90% glue and is not cooperating so far.
    Last edited by Bluntforce; 02-09-2011 at 08:43 PM.

I have a PSL and sort of agree the the Blond is not as nice as the read head.
    On ammo I am working on the answer that was given when I bought mine around 150 gr.