Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Meet Natasha..

Meet Natasha..

my 1st AK-47. oh and im a noob as well.

It's a CAI Romanian, bought it for $300 so I just couldn't pass it up.

Just hated the condition it was in, all scratched up, wood looked horrible, no polished bolt receiver, mag wasn't fitting correctly... so.. decided to fix all that...

Here's a comparison of the finish:

Here's the wood before and after:

I decided to clean/refinish even the tools for the fuck of it:

The final product (going to finish handsanding the bolt receiver tomorrow):

Now just need to visit the range
    Last edited by AiL45; 02-27-2011 at 02:25 AM.

Very nice...Welcome to the addiction.
    I have a few Romanians and I have been pleased with the fact they work the way they are supposed to.
    FBHO

Very nice job and welcome. I like the wood color. I too am a newb to the forum and AK"s. Been shooting all my life but other than a few .22 semiauto's I never owned a gun like these. They are alot of fun to work on and to shoot and make a great reliable defence weapon if a MELTDOWN ever does happen. Ammo is cheap enough and found all over the web. I got alot of information about the 7.62 X 39 round and sighting these guns in before my first trip. Ajusting sights to hit dead on at twenty five yards puts you about 1.5" high at 50, 3" high at 100 back to zero at around 200, 6" low at 250 and around 15" low at 300. I set mine up this way and it seems to hold true out to 100 yards. That is the longest range I've fired at. Everyone has their personal way of shooting, this is just a recommended starting point. Below is a target from my last trip to the range, fired 30 round mag from a rest at 50 yards at a 12" target. These are great shooters and I'm sure you'll agree after hitting the range............. GOOD LUCK !

Looks great!
    Natasha has class.
    We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm.
    George Orwell